The Black Sea
Common Responsibility
Common Ground
Action Plan

Honorary Committee: Religious

His Beatitude Patriarch Alexy II
Patriarch of Moscow and all Russia

His Grace the Most Revd & Rt Hon Dr George L Carey
Archbishop of Canterbury

His Beatitude Catholicos Elias II
Patriarch of all Georgia

His Eminence Roger Cardinal Etchegaray
President of the Central Committee of the Holy Year 2000 - Vatican

The Most Revd Rabbi Dr Arthur Hertzberg
World Jewish Congress

His Beatitude Maxim
Patriarch of Sofia and all Bulgaria

His Excellency Dr Mohamed Sayed Tantawi
The Highest Imam & Sheikh El Azhar

His Beatitude Teoctist
Patriarch of Bucharest and all Romania

Honorary Committee: Lay

HH Prince Sadruddin Aga Khan
President of the Bellerive Foundation

HRH Prince El Hassan Bin Talal of Jordan

Mr Theodore B Karatzas
President, Hellenic Banks Association

Mr Rahmi Mustafa Koç
Koc Holding A.S. and Chairman of Turmepa

Dr Julia Marton- Lefevre
Executive Director, International Council of Scientific Unions

Professor Carl Friedrich von Weizsaecker
President, Max Planck Institute

Mr James Wolfensohn
President of the World Bank

His Excellency the Honorable Al Gore
The Vice President of the United States of America

Religious and Scientific Committee

Honorary Chair

The Most Revd Metropolitan John of Pergamon
B.D., S.T.M., Dr Theol. D.Theol Hc

Executive Chair

Professor Jane Lubchenco
Valley Professor of Marine Biology, Oregon State University, USA


Professor Daniel Amit
Hebrew University of Jerusalem

Dr Zaki Badawi
Principal of the Muslim College, London

The Rt Revd & Rt Hon Richard JC Chartres
Lord Bishop of London

Dr Charles N Ehler
Director of Office of Ocean Resources, Conservation & Assessment, USA

Sir John Houghton
Chairman, The Royal Commission on the Environment, UK

Dr Graeme Kelleher
Vice-President of the Commission on National Parks & Protected Areas, Australia

Dr Laurence Mee
Coordinator, Black Sea Environmental Programme, UK

Professor Erdal Ozhan
Chairman of Medcoast, Middle East Technical University, Turkey

Rabbi Naftali Rothenberg
Senior Fellow, Van Leer Jerusalem Institute

Professor Yumvenaly Zaitsev
Institute of Biology of Southern Seas, Ukraine

Special Advisors

Mr Neal Ascherson
Author and Journalist

Professor Anthony Bryer, Historian
University of Birmingham

Mr Geoffrey Lean
Environment Correspondent, the 'Independent on Sunday'

Dr Sylvia Earle
President, Deep Ocean TYPEering, USA

The Revd Alexander Fostiropoulos
Orthodox Chaplain to the University of London

Mr Edward Goldsmith
Founder and Editor of the 'Ecologist'

Dr Ljubomir Jeftic
Chairman of the Advisory Board on Pollution Control and prevention of ACOPS, Croatia

Dr Elliott Norse
President of the Marine Conservation and Biology Institute, USA

Professor George Papadimitriou
Professor of Constitutional Law, University of Athens

Ms Vikki Spruill
Executive Director, Sea Web, USA

Hon Timothy E Wirth
Under-Secretary of State for Global Affairs, US State Department